• Category Archives Recordings
  • Audio from November 20, 2015

    The 2015 Friday Pipes series ended with a good crowd and a great program entitled “Song of Thanksgiving” by David Erwin. If you missed it, you can listen to it all here:

  • Sinfonia to Cantata 29, “Wir danken dir, Gott” – J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
    Arranged by Harvey Grace (1874-1944)
  • Intermezzo from Suite for Organ (1905) – James H. Rogers (1857-1940)
  • Four Prayers in Tone, Thanksgiving (1950) – Richard Purvis (1913-1994)
  • “Let All Things Now Living” (“The Ash Grove”) – Welsh Folk Tune
    Arranged by David Cherwien (b. 1957)
  • Fanfare for Thanksgiving – Walter Pelz (b. 1926)

  • Audio from November 13, 2015

    Here is the audio from Dr. William Sullivan’s recital on November 13:


  • Joy – C. Alexander Peloquin (1918-1997)
  • Fantasy on Bizet’s Carmen – Edwin Lemare (1865-1934)
  • Andante “Choeur de Voix Humaines” (Op. 122, No. 2) -Louis James Alfred Lefébure-Wély (1817-1869)
  • The Toy Trumpet – Raymond Scott (1908–1994), Arr. Wm. Sullivan
  • Powerhouse – Raymond Scott, Arr. Wm. Sullivan

  • Audio from October 30, 2015

    Here is the audio from Tim Jansen’s Recital on October 30:


  • Symphony No. VI in G Minor – Charles Marie Widor
    • Allegro
    • Adagio
    • Intermezzo
    • Cantabile
    • Two Antiphons based on “Ave Maris Stella” – Marcel Dupré
      • III. So now we Journey, aid our weak endeavor
      • IV. Amen

  • Audio from October 23, 2015

    Here is the audio from Brent Johnson’s Recital on October 23. Once again, the recording includes an appearance by the students of Preclarus Mastery Academy:


  • Jesu, meine Freude, op. 65 no. 38 [Passacaglia mit Choral] (1909) – Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1933)
  • Scherzetto, op. 108 no. 1 (1938) – Joseph Jongen (1873 – 1953)
  • Lento, op. 105 no. 3 (1908) – Charles Villiers-Stanford (1852 – 1924)
  • Mozart Changes (1995) – Zsolt Gárdonyi (b. 1946)
  • Meditation on St. Columba (2001) – M. Searle Wright (1918-2004)
  • Seven Pieces, op. 27, VII. Final (1931) – Marcel Dupré (1886-1971)

  • Audio from October 16

    Our scheduled artist was unable to get travel arrangements secured, so Rev. Mark Gifford stepped in to provide our Friday Pipes recital this week. In case you missed it, you can hear it here. The recording also includes a brief encore:

  • Audio from October 9, 2015

    In case you missed it, here’s the audio from Nick Botkins’ performance on October 9:

  • Prelude in E-flat Major (BWV 552) – J.S. Bach
  • Meditaciones Religiosas, Op. 122 – Louis-J.-A. Lefébure-Wély
    • no. 7 Andante “Choeur de Voix Humaines
  • 24 Pièces in style libre, Op. 31 – Louis Vierne
    • Préambule
    • Cortège
    • Méditation
    • Divertissement

  • Audio from October 2, 2015

    Here’s a recording of Nicholas Bideler’s performance at last Friday’s recital. It even includes an unanticipated appearance by the students of Preclarus Mastery Academy at the end of the Howells:

  • Fantasy and Fugue in G-moll (BWV 542) – Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
  • Vater unser im Himmelreich – Georg Böhm (1661-1733)
  • Three Psalm-Preludes, Op.32 – Herbert Howells (1892-1983)
    • No.1- Psalm 34, v.6
  • Paean – Kenneth Leighton – (1929-1988)

  • Audio from September 25, 2015

    Here’s a recording of Andrew Peters performing last Friday’s recital in case you couldn’t make it:

  • Toccata in F Major, S. 540 – Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
  • Fantasy in f minor, K. 608 – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
  • Symphony No. 1, op. 14, VI. Finale – Louis Vierne (1870-1937)
  • Andrew Peters serves as Pastoral Musician (Organist / Director of Music) at Second Presbyterian Church in St. Louis. At the church he directors the choral groups and the handbell choir, plays the church’s recently-restored 1965 Schantz Organ, and is artistic director for the church’s Couts Music Series.

    A graduate of St. Olaf College and the Cleveland Institute of Music, Peters has studied with John Ferguson and Todd Wilson. He has won numerous organ including the Peter B. Knock Sacred Music Award and the Paul and Ruth Manz Church Music Scholarship, first place in the American Guild of Organists (AGO) Twin Cities Competition, second place in the Region VI AGO Young Artists Competition, second place in the San Marino Organ Competition, second place in the Rodgers North American Organ Competition, and semi-finalist in the National Young Artists Competition in Organ Performance.

    Peters has performed at multiple venues including the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, DePauw University, the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago, and Central Lutheran Church in Minneapolis. He plays organ with the St. Louis Symphony including their 2013 performance of Benjamin Britten’s Peter Grimes at Carnegie Hall. This season he plays music of Janá?ek with the St. Louis Symphony, plays organ recitals in Indiana, Missouri, Tennessee, and New York City, conducts the Maryville Symphony as their new assistant conductor, and guest conducts the Metropolitan Orchestra of St. Louis.

    A member of the American Guild of Organists, Peters has served as Dean of the Nashville AGO Chapter, Director for the 2010 St. Louis Pipe Organ Encounter, and Convention Coordinator for the 2015 regional AGO convention held in St. Louis. A native of New Jersey, Peters and his family live in St. Louis City.

  • Audio from September 8, 2015 – Mary Beth Wittry

    If you missed the recital, here’s the audio from the recital on September 18, 2015. The loudest parts of the Howells and the Mailly are a bit distorted, unfortunately. This week we’ll be sure to do a better sound check before the performance starts.

    Mary Beth Wittry performing at Third Baptist Church, Friday September 18, 2015
    Mary Beth Wittry performing at Third Baptist Church, Friday September 18, 2015

  • Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV 662 – J.S. Bach
  • Psalm Prelude, set 1, no.1, Psalm 34 – Herbert Howells
  • Naïades -Louis Vierne
  • Miroirs – Ad Wammes
  • Toccata – Alphonse Mailly

  • Audio from April 10, 2015

    Here’s the audio from Dr. Jörg Abbing’s recital on April 10. The recording starts with the Fugue on the first work:

    Prelude and Fugue in E minor (BWV 548) – Johann Sebastian Bach
    Berceuse – Louis Vierne
    Choral in A minor – César Franck